Tasmanian Writers’ Prize 2016

What a joy it was to receive the news that I made the final cut again in this years Tasmanian Writers’ Prize for my short story Jack Frost.

Congratulations to award-winning Canberra author and science journalist Craig Cormick who stands on the winner’s podium with No man is an island.

Keren Heenan was highly commended for All the quiet things.

The other eight finalists, who will be published in the Forty South Short Story Anthology 2016, are:-                                         

Alicia Bakewell (WA) – Walking on water

Margaret Forster (TAS) – My first volcano

Malcolm King (SA) – Eddystone Rock

Andrea McMahon (TAS) – Crystal Ball

Wendy Riley (VIC) – Maya’s Story

Karenlee Thompson (QLD) – Jack Frost

Roger Vickery (NSW) – Seven Variations on the theme of recovery

Helen Wyatt (TAS) – Maria Magic

Congratulations everyone. I can’t wait to read the stories.

Head to the Forty South Website for further info


Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Tasmanian Writers’ Prize 2016

  1. Congratulations Karenlee. How exciting for you.

  2. ablay1

    Good on you!

  3. Congratulations! That’s wonderful:)

  4. Congratulations Karenlee! You deserve success for all your hard work and creativity.

  5. Valerie Banks

    Congratulations! my girl, There is no end to your talent,

  6. Anonymous

    Well done again, Karenlee!

  7. J Andreatta

    Super! Surely enough fodder for a short story collection by now …

Leave a Reply to karenlee thompson Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s