The Tasmanian Writers’ Prize

Delighted to discover that my short story ‘Dear Ethan’ has been Highly Commended in the Tasmanian Writers’ Prize. A real thrill.

Congratulations to the winner

Rachel Leary (VIC) A Concrete Aborigine.

The winning entry will appear in the June edition of Tasmania 40° South

The other selected entries will appear in the Forty South Short Story Anthology 2015 – to be published in August/September. They are, as listed:-

HIGHLY COMMENDED

Karenlee Thompson (Qld) Dear Ethan 

Melanie Cheng (VIC) The Honeymoon

FINALISTS (alphabetical order)

Jamieson Allom  (TAS) In Two Minds

Verity Croker (TAS) Grasskiller 

Keren Heenan (VIC) The Island

Carmel Lillis (VIC) Island seeks Island

Andrea McMahon (TAS) Penal Colony

Andrew Stiggers (NZ) Island of Flowers

Simon Stuart (VIC) True North

13 Comments

Filed under Writing

13 responses to “The Tasmanian Writers’ Prize

  1. Congratulations! That’s wonderful news!

  2. Glen Hunting

    Marvellous, Karen. It must feel grand. Do let us know where and/or how we can purchase the anthology when it comes out.

  3. Fantastic Karen Lee … thrilled to bits for you.

  4. Peter Smallwood

    Congratulations Karenlee. I look forward to reading it. I have also just scored a HC in the latest Stringybark ss competition so good news all round. Sydney WF have their program out now – looks fabulous. Might see you there? Peter.

    • Peter! So good to hear from you. How is life in the blue mountains? Congrats on your Stringybark success. I was just thinking of you the other day actually because I thought you would do well to enter the Banjo Paterson short story awards. Your style would be a great fit, I think. Drop me an email and let me know your news. Oh, and thanks for the congrats!

  5. Melanie Cheng

    Hi Karenlee. Just read Dear Ethan in the anthology. Congratulations on a quietly evocative and nuanced peice. I really enjoyed it. We missed you at the launch. It was a great festival. And the weather couldn’t have been better!

    • Thanks Melanie. I was sorry not to be able to make it to the launch. I look forward to receiving my copy to read your story and the other winning entries. Glad you had such lovely weather for the festival.

  6. Hi Karenlee, I’m a bit late with congratulations but as you know my blogging skills are not well honed and sometimes I get lost! Well done! Please let me know when, where I may read ‘Dear Ethan’. My son’s visiting Tassie in January maybe he could buy the anthology?

Leave a Reply

