Birthdays

November is my birthday month.  I used to love birthdays and often had grand ideas for parties that never come to fruition. 

I had planned a big half a century bash a couple of years ago and did pretty much nothing instead.  Last year, I fantasized about have a party with the theme of playing cards, once someone suggested that, at fifty-two, I would be a ‘full deck of cards’.  Yet again, no party.

Fifty-three is a rather boring number and, anyway, I have stopped kidding myself.  I’m just not that into birthdays any more and I’m not much of a party person.

Instead, I’ll just list a few famous people who celebrate their birthday on the same day as me.

 Allen Tate, American poet and critic.  He was the founding editor of the verse magazine The Fugitive.

Indira Gandhi, Indian Prime Minister.

Larry King, American TV personality.

Ted Turner, media mogul and philanthropist who has had a long-running feud with Rupert Murdoch.

Sharon Olds, award winning poet.  She famously turned down an invitation from Laura Bush to attend the National Book Festival, because of the government regime of “blood, wounds and fire”.  From the open letter to Mrs Bush, published in The Nation: “I thought of the clean linens at your table, the shining knives and the flames of the candles, and I could not stomach it.”

Ann Curry, television news journalist.

Calvin Klein, designer

Actors Jodie Foster, Meg Ryan and Nigel Bennett.

And the answer to the FINAL Fictionary Dictionary… ZEGEDINE is a silver drinking cup.

Leave a comment

Filed under General Interest

Leave a Reply

