200: When I’m Sixty-Four

A weekly series of riffs in 200 words

Will you still need me, will you still feed me,
When I’m sixty-four?

As my partner and I mark our thirty-first wedding anniversary, I’m reminded of the 1966 Beatles Classic, purportedly written by Paul McCartney when he was just sixteen.

Young Paul McCartney

We’re nowhere near sixty-four yet but wedding anniversaries – like birthdays – are another way of reminding ourselves that Old Father Time continues his steady march (which is why I usually prefer to ignore such occasions).

The reason for mentioning it now is that, if you are reading these 200 words, it’s because I’ve escaped from my seven-day diet of snorkelling, beachwalking and  reading, to find a computer, click on the draft button and press ‘publish’.  And that will be the full extent of my computer interaction, as I lap us some much needed R&R in Fiji.

I could be facetious and say it’s typical of a man to worry about who would feed him when he’s sixty-four (you’d think he might have learnt how to feed himself) but I would never stoop so low as to have such a crack, would I?

Now excuse me: I’ sure I have a husband, a tray of fresh fruit and a masseuse waiting.  Bula!

The answer to Friday’s Fictionary Dictionary
Kobold is…a mischievous household sprite

1 Comment

Filed under 200 words

One response to “200: When I’m Sixty-Four

  1. val banks

    I hope by now you are lapping up the luxury you both deserve so much. Gary, don’t leave the girl down under the water to drown like some other person of note. Luv.

Leave a Reply

