The Wonder of Words

I seem to have been living, breathing and sleeping all things ‘book launch’ for the past month or more and today I have finally managed to distract myself by reflecting on the books, poems or lines that have inspired me.
          My lists change frequently, dependent as they are upon my current head-space, so this one is bound to change the minute I post it. 
          This is not a list of capital L literary works (although a few might have snuck in):  you can find those sorts of lists all over the net.  There’s an interesting one at Time.com and a nice selection of top tens at  one of my favourite blogs  ANZ LitLovers. Or you can find out what Australians voted as best (100) reads according to the ABC
          My list is not restricted to books and is purely personal.

  1. Charms for the Easy Life by Kaye Gibbons for the unique voice and easy reading style and for the muscular strength of the female characters.
  2. Hard Times by Charles Dickens – because of the names of the characters, particularly the teacher M’choakumchild.
  3. Marele Day’s The Life and Crimes of Harry Lavender for an opening that tricked me because of my own stereotyping.
  4. Gillian Rubinstein’s Galax-Arena because it has something very profound and sincere to say to young people.
  5. Eleanor H Porter for having Pollyanna teach us that there is something precious about always looking for the silver lining.
  6. The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People by Stephen R. Covey.  Despite the hype, buzz-words and mission statements, there are some great organisational tools and performance techniques.
  7. Donna Parker On Her Own by Marcia Martin for making a meek little girl feel adventurous and empowered.
  8. I wandered lonely as a cloud (commonly known as ‘Daffodils’) by William Wordsworth.  Just because.
  9. If I had a Gun by Gig Ryan for helping me understand the power of the poetic voice.
  10. Virginia Woolf’s A Room of One’s Own for articulating my jumbled thoughts and making me find my space.

          I always love to hear about  favourites so please share … even if it’s just one book that made a difference in your life.

2 Comments

Filed under Writing

2 responses to “The Wonder of Words

  1. Dylan Thompson

    As far as fiction is concerned, I’ve only ever some across 2 books that captured my attention (admittedly, I have a short attention span for fiction novels):
    1. Storm Boy by Colin Thiele. I remember being completely caught up in this book the first time I read it.
    2. The Wolfman by Carl Dreadstone. I’m not 100% certain this is the exact book I am thinking of, but pretty sure. The reason for the confusion is that not only is this book sometimes titled The Werewolf of London, the authors name is also a pseudonym (Ramsey Campbell is his real name). The book is a novelisation of the 1935 film Werewolf of London. I was forced to read this for year 9 English and put it off so long that I eventually forgot that I had to read it at all. I ended up remembering the day before the test and spent the entire day ploughing through this book. To my amazement, being completely enthralled in it.

    As far as non-fiction is concerned, my recommendations will always be constrained to whatever is in my current field of vision. As my present passion is technical analysis and trend trading, the two that come to mind are:
    1. Trend Following by Michael Covell. A great introduction into the little know and publicised world of long term trend following in the markets.
    2. Trade Your Way to Financial Freedom by Van K. Tharp. A far more detailed look at technical analysis as a whole (trend following included) and how to go about designing a system to successfully beat the markets.

    • I loved Storm Boy too.
      I have never read ‘The Wolfman’ but isn’t Carl Dreadstone a great pseudonym? I will check that one out.
      Unfortunately, I don’t have the sort of brain to take in the mountain of information necessary to understand the markets but if you manage to start successfully beating the markets, can I just jump on your bandwagon?

Leave a Reply

