Rapunzel Competition: Runner Up

Poet Betsy Chape was the runner up in our Rapunzel competition with ‘Rapunzel’s Lament’.

Woe is me! Alas! Alack!
My love is gone, will he come back?
I am locked away in this lonely tower,
Far from garden, bloom and bower;
With naught to do but pace this cell,
And dream of one I love so well.

But should my love come back to me,
What can he do to set me free?
Beneath my window, no ivy grows,
Not even stems of climbing rose;
And my heart o’erflows with sheer despair
For it takes so long to grow one’s hair!

Leave a comment

Filed under Stanthorpe Writers Group

Leave a Reply

